Conservatoire Larzac Templier et Hospitalier

The Templars and Hospitallers

Document from the Templars eraThe Crusades

After the conquest of Jerusalem in 1099, several of the lords who participated in the first crusade decided to remain in Jerusalem and thus founded the Kingdom of Jerusalem, choosing a king from amongst themselves.
The crusade's main objective was to obtain free access to Christ's tomb and the Kingdom of Jerusalem's mission was to maintain this for all Christians. The flow of pilgrims to Jerusalem thus increased during the XIIth and XIIIth centuries.

A TemplarThe orders of the Templars and the Hospitallers

I t was thus that two new religious orders were created: one was the Hospitallers of Saint John of Jerusalem (1113), whose initial mission was to lodge and look after the pilgrims, and a little later, the Order of the Temple (1120), whose mission was to ensure the security of the pilgrims in the Holy Land.

These two religious and military orders benefited, in the West, from numerous donations and organised a veritable network of Commanderies: rural as here at Sainte-Eulalie and urban in the main towns. Revenues generated from these domains served to keep several hundred knights from the two Orders in the Holy Land and above all to run the large fortresses, capable of sheltering up to 2000 men, which served to maintain the Kingdom of Jerusalem for the Christian world.
Vessels belonging to the Orders of St. John of Jerusalem and the Temple ensured the delivery of money, arms, horses and men several times a year from ports including St.-Gilles and Aigues-Mortes, which are the nearest to here.

The departure from the Holy Land

The Kingdom of Jerusalem and the other states (Principality of Antioch, Counties of Tripoli and Edesse) were lost forever and the last Europeans left the town of Acre in 1291. After some time spent wandering in Paris, the Templars chose Cyprus as their permanent headquarters.

Emblem of the order of the TempleThe abolition of the Templars

Although he showed apparent friendship towards the Order, the greed of the French King, Philippe le Bel, was the essential cause of all the French Templars being arrested in 1307. Accused of idolatry, secret rites and thus heresy, they were judged and the Order was abolished in 1312. It never saw the light of day again.

RhodesThe Hospitallers in Rhodes

On leaving the Holy land, fate was kinder to the Hospitallers. After a short stay in the Kingdom of Cyprus, where the Lusignans, who were originally from Poitou, reigned, the Hospitallers conquered the Island of Rhodes off the Turkish coast between 1306 and 1309.

The Order became a sovereign power and was very insular, and its geographical position forced it to become a maritime power, fighting the Turks and the Barbary pirates (from north Africa) in the Mediterranean.
After 1312, it took over the Templars' property and re-organised itself to manage more than 600 commanderies stretching from Scotland to the borders of Poland and from Denmark to the tip of Sicily.
After several unsuccessful sieges, the Turks managed to take the Island in 1522.

Emblem of the order of MaltaThe Hospitallers on Malta

In 1530, the Order of Saint John of Jerusalem or the Knights of Rhodes took the name of the Knights of Malta after settling on that Island, south-west of Sicily after it had been given to them by Charles V, King of Spain. Situated in a strait more or less in the middle of the Mediterranean, from 1530 to 1798 the Order became known for the quality of its splendid service at the Hospital in Valetta, one of the largest and most modern in Europe and for its incessant fight against the Turks and the Barbary pirates using only a small, efficient fleet of galleys.

The end of the Order of Malta

General Bonaparte, the future Napoleon, who was on his way to Egypt with the Republican fleet, chased the Knights of Malta off the Island in 1798.
During the XIXth century, the old Order of Saint John of Jerusalem from Rhodes and Malta was reorganised and took up once again its original vocation of health care which it now pursues throughout the world. Its headquarters are in the Malta Palace in Rome.

Sainte-Eulalie de CernonSainte-Eulalie and the Order of Malta

The Commandery at Sainte-Eulalie, which was founded by the Templars in the XIIth century and built on a rectangular plan including the church, refectory, commander's or preceptor's lodgings with kitchens, should be distinguished from the outbuildings used for farming activities. The Commandery at Sainte-Eulalie was financed from farming and especially from its flocks of sheep which were to be found on the vast grasslands of the Larzac. Each Commandery had its annexes, or members, dependant upon it. For Ste Eulalie the main ones are Viala du Pas de Jaux, La Cavalerie and La Couvertoirade.
At Sainte-Eulalie, La Cavalerie and La Couvertoirade, insecurity in the 1440's led the populations, then grouped around the Hospitaller churches, granaries and buildings, to fortify their positions by raising walls, practically all identical and remarkably well-preserved.
Twelve explanatory information panels in several languages allow visitors to explore the architecture of the village and the Commandery at their own pace (the first panel is to be found on the outside of the village's main entrance)
The visit to the inside of the Commandery is guided.

Print The page
Request for brochures

Conservatoire Larzac Templier et Hospitalier

Immeuble Jean-Henri Fabre - Place Bion Marlavagne - 12100 MILLAU
Tél. 05 65 59 12 22 - Fax. 05 65 60 63 24
Courriel : conservatoire.larzac@wanadoo.fr
Mentions légales

Conservatoire Larzac Templier et Hospitalier

Les templiers hospitaliers

Document d'époqueLes Croisades

Après la conquête de Jérusalem en 1099, lors de la première croisade, les seigneurs ayant participé à celle-ci décidèrent, pour certains d'entre eux, de rester à Jérusalem et fondèrent pour cela le royaume de Jérusalem, avec un roi choisi parmi eux.
Le libre accès au tombeau du Christ était l'objectif essentiel de la croisade et le royaume qui est créé a pour mission de conserver celui-ci au monde chrétien. Le flot des pèlerins va donc s'accentuer à Jérusalem aux XIème et XIIème siècle.

représentaion d'un TemplierL'ordre des Templiers et des Hospitaliers

C'est ainsi que vont être créés deux nouveaux ordres religieux : celui des Hospitaliers de St-Jean de Jérusalem (1113), avec pour mission l'hébergement et le soin aux pèlerins et un peu plus tard l'Ordre du Temple (1120), qui assurera la sécurité des mêmes pèlerins en Terre Sainte.
Ces deux ordres religieux et militaires vont bénéficier, en Occident, de nombreuses donations et vont organiser un véritable réseau de commanderies rurales comme ici à Sainte-Eulalie ou urbaines dans les grandes villes. Les revenus de celles-ci vont servir à l'entretien des quelques centaines de chevaliers des deux ordres de Terre Sainte et surtout des grandes forteresses, pouvant abriter jusqu'à 2000 hommes, qui serviront à maintenir le royaume de Jérusalem au monde chrétien. Des navires appartenant à l'Ordre de St-Jean de Jérusalem et à l'Ordre du Temple assureront depuis les ports de St-Gilles et d'Aigues-Mortes pour les plus proches, les transferts d'argent, d'armes, de chevaux, d'hommes, plusieurs fois par an.

Le départ de Terre Sainte

Lorsque le royaume de Jérusalem et les autres états (Principauté d'Antioche, comté de Tripoli, et d'Edesse) seront définitivement perdus, que les derniers européens quitteront la ville d'Acre en 1291, le Temple se fixera dans l'île de Chypre face à la terre, après quelques temps d'errance à Paris.

Drapeau de l'ordre du TempleLa disparition des Templiers

Il faut penser que la cupidité du roi de France, Philippe-le-Bel, malgré la trompeuse confiance qu'il témoignait à l'égard des Templiers, est essentiellement à l'origine de l'arrestation de tous les Templiers de France en 1307. Accusés d'idolâtrie, de rites secrets et donc d'hérésie, ils seront jugés et l'ordre aboli en 1312. Celui-ci ne s'en relèvera pas.

RhodesLes Hospitaliers à Rhodes

Plus heureux, les Hospitaliers, après un court séjour dans le royaume de Chypre, où règnent les Lusignan originaires du Poitou, conquièrent de 1306 à 1309 l'île de Rhodes, face aux côtes Turques.
L'Ordre devenu souverain et insulaire va avoir une vocation maritime forcée et, jusqu'à la fin, lutter contre les Turcs et les Barbaresques (pays du Maghreb) en Méditerranée.
Après 1312, il recueille l'héritage des Templiers, se réorganise pour gérer plus de 600 commanderies depuis l'Ecosse jusqu'aux confins de la Pologne et du Danemark, et jusqu'à la pointe de la Sicile.
Après plusieurs sièges infructueux, l'île de Rhodes tombe aux mains des Turcs en 1522.

Drapeau de l'ordre de MalteLes Hospitaliers à Malte

L 'Ordre de St-Jean de Jérusalem ou chevaliers de Rhodes prend le nom de chevaliers de Malte après leur installation en 1530, dans l'île de Malte, au Sud-Ouest de la Sicile que va leur donner le roi d'Espagne Charles Quint. Situé dans un détroit à peu près au centre de la Méditerranée, l'Ordre va se faire connaître de 1530 à 1798 pour la qualité des services prodigués dans l'Hôpital de La Valette, l'un des plus grands et des plus modernes d'Europe et par sa lutte incessante contre les Turcs et les Barbaresques avec une flotte de galères limitée mais performante.

La fin de l'ordre de Malte

L es chevaliers de Malte sont chassés de l'île de Malte en 1798 par le général Bonaparte, futur Napoléon, se rendant en Egypte avec la flotte de la République.
Dans le courant du XIXème siècle, l'ancien ordre de St-Jean de Jérusalem, de Rhodes et de Malte se réorganise et retrouve sa vocation première hospitalière, qui s'étend dans l'ensemble du monde.

Sainte-Eulalie de CernonSainte-Eulalie et l'ordre de Malte

Il faut distinguer à Sainte-Eulalie la commanderie elle-même, fondée par les Templiers au milieu du XIIème siècle, de plan rectangulaire incluant l'église, le réfectoire, le logement du commandeur ou précepteur avec les cuisines et les bâtiments de l'exploitation rurale. La commanderie de Sainte-Eulalie tire ses revenus des cultures et surtout des ovins qui se trouvent sur les immenses parcours du Larzac. Chaque commanderie a des annexes, ou membres, exploitations dépendant de la commanderie qui sont ici Le Viala du Pas de Jaux sur le Larzac, La Cavalerie et La Couvertoirade pour les principaux.
A Sainte-Eulalie et dans les deux derniers membres cités, l'insécurité conduit les populations regroupées autour des églises, granges et bâtiments des Hospitaliers à se fortifier en élevant, dans les années 1440, des murailles sensiblement identiques et remarquablement conservées.
Douze panneaux explicatifs en plusieurs langues (le premier à l'extérieur de la porte principale du village), vous permettront de découvrir en toute liberté l'architecture du village et de la commanderie.
La visite intérieure de la commanderie s'effectue avec un guide.

imprimer la page
Demande de brochures

Conservatoire Larzac Templier et Hospitalier

Immeuble Jean-Henri Fabre - Place Bion Marlavagne - 12100 MILLAU
Tél. 05 65 59 12 22 - Fax. 05 65 60 63 24
Courriel : conservatoire.larzac@wanadoo.fr
Mentions légales - Votre avis sur le site